Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 13, 2024, 09:34:28 PM

Login with username, password and session length
* Home Help Arcade Login Register
+  Forum
|-+  Monitor Repair Log and Database. **Arcade and Gaming**
| |-+  Monitor Repair Tech Support
| | |-+  Well U3000 Monitor in a Williams Slot
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Well U3000 Monitor in a Williams Slot  (Read 3876 times)
BallySlotsZ
« on: March 25, 2010, 04:04:45 PM »

Hello Everyone,

I have a Williams Slot with a Wells garner U3000. Monitor.  Monitor is dead.  I checked the fuse-and replaced it. as soon as you power it up it blows the fuse. Where to start troubleshooting this? Is this problem confined to the power suppy or the Chassie board? I have some repair experience with Electrohome GO-7 monitors. But no experience with these.

Any help and direction would be appreciated.
KirkLasVegas
Retired OLD Buzzard
Contributing Gold NLG Member
Sr.Tech NLG Member 1000+ Post

Total Karma Storms: 233

Newest addition to the family, RIP Bentley

« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2010, 05:01:44 PM »

Hello Everyone,

I have a Williams Slot with a Wells garner U3000. Monitor.  Monitor is dead.  I checked the fuse-and replaced it. as soon as you power it up it blows the fuse. Where to start troubleshooting this? Is this problem confined to the power suppy or the Chassie board? I have some repair experience with Electrohome GO-7 monitors. But no experience with these.

Any help and direction would be appreciated.

Those are usually pretty easy to find...
Check for shorts first...
Check diodes in the power section,
Check electrolytic caps for shorts,
Check Horizontal output transistor for shorts E-B-C
Here is a trick I have used for years. If you cant locate the shorted device there is another way to find the part.
First off USE A ISOLATION TRANSFORMER...
Replace the fuse....
Wire a 100 watt 120 volt regular household lamp in SERIES with the problem monitor.