Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 02, 2024, 08:37:35 AM

Login with username, password and session length
* Home Help Arcade Login Register
+  Forum
|-+  **Reel Slots** Gaming Machines
| |-+  Universal Reel/Video Games. (Moderator: uniman)
| | |-+  Troubleshooting the Universal Ultra
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Troubleshooting the Universal Ultra  (Read 4458 times)
uniman
Topic Moderator
Sr.Tech NLG Member 1000+ Post

Total Karma Storms: 695

« on: December 19, 2008, 10:14:13 PM »

Now that I have some experience working on the Ultra Series, I'm seeing a common weakness.
It is the MPU where it plugs into the motherboard. (or backplane board as some call it)
Most often this problem arises after a machine is moved or the MPU board was removed and reinserted.
The symptoms are all kinds of problems. No LED's, won't accept coins, error 31 - overpay, reel errors, etc.

The solution is;
With the machine turned off,
Remove and inspect the MPU board pins for discoloration or corrosion. Use a magnifying glass! Even small corrosion will cause problems.
I use a soft brass brush to gently clean the corrosion off the pins. Then make sure no brass strands are left behind. Again, I use the magnifying glass to look for stray brass strand fibers. They can short the board!!
I then liberally spray the motherboard pin connectors with contact cleaner. Put a small towel under it to catch the excess. Then spray the pins on the MPU and insert it in/out a couple of times in the motherboard. Give some time for the contact cleaner to evaporate and then wipe off any residue that ran down the motherboard.
Insert the MPU and after it seats, I use my thumbs pressing on the white pull tabs and press firmly, left, right, and then both together. This assures a tight fit.
Perform a RAM clear while powering up (see Ultra RAM clear thread for this procedure) and it should work fine.