S2000 Chips Explained
(1/5) > >>
knagl:
I'm fairly new to the world of S2000 and I wanted to put together a post that helps to explain what the different chips do, and their relationship to one another.  This topic has been brought up once or twice, but I wanted to get all of the information in one place for the future benefit of newbies to the S2000 platform, as well as to educate myself further as to what all of the chips do.

Below is my understanding as to what the various chips do.  If you have additional information to add to or correct what I've posted, please do so and I'll edit this post accordingly.

An S2000 game uses the following chips in order to operate: SG (Game or GME), SB (Stepper Base), VS (Stepper Version), and an optional MMLII (Multi-media Lite II) DSV SIMM card.

SG (Stepper Game or GME) Chips:

Roughly the equivalent of a S+ "SP" (or GAME PROM) chip.  The SG chips are the operating system of sorts for the S2000 games, and many support multiple game "types", using similar type definitions (Type 0 = generic, no nudging, no respin, etc. -- Type 2 = Haywire, Type 5 = 4th of July, etc.).  Per r273's post below, it may also store legacy sounds, control reel lights, coin validation, hopper operation, nudge and Haywire operation.

SB (Stepper Base):

Roughly the equivalent of a S+ "SS" (or REEL PROM) chip.  The SB chip is game-specific, and contains the paytable and virtual and physical reel symbol/stop information for the specific game kit installed in the machine.  A significant difference between an S+ "SS" chip and a S2000 SB chip is that a S2000 SB chip contains multiple paytables selectable within the machine (with the use of a keychip), unlike an S+ "SS" chip which only contains one paytable. 

As noted in this post, a special SB chip numbered SB001000 may be used in combination with a legacy S+ SS (REEL) chip to provide paytable information to a S2000 machine (thus allowing you to use a S+ kit in an S2000 machine).

VS (Stepper Version):