Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 21, 2014, 09:08:27 AM

Login with username, password and session length
* Home Help Arcade Login Register
.
+  Forum
|-+  Homebrew Player Tracking and EFT Systems.
| |-+  NLG Homebrew Player Tracking and EFT Systems.
| | |-+  BALLY GAMEMAKER V7000 AND SAS
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: BALLY GAMEMAKER V7000 AND SAS  (Read 1840 times)
SLOTMAN
Contributing NLG Member
NLG Member 101 to 500 Post
*

Total Karma Storms: 34
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 351



« on: March 05, 2012, 03:27:36 PM »

Has anyone tried communicating with a V7000 GameMaker?  I am using pins 2/3/7 on the DB25 connector and trying to communicate with the machine using a few different SAS programs and if I go in to the communications test part I can see the machine receiving 80/81 but it isnt responding to any commands.

I dont recall seeing a place to set the SAS channel or SAS Address.

I know the V7000 is a little older but it does support SAS 5.0 so I can at least use EFT
Logged
zytec
G-Rabbit Cashless
New NLG Member 1 to 100 Post
**

Total Karma Storms: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3



WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2012, 12:19:35 AM »

I can help with the V7000 Setup/Operations manual - too involved to post here.
If you can't set the SAS channel or address, then possibly you don't have the correct set chip.
These machines (Even the 7200 series) were never very happy with SAS, particularly EFT, but perseverance normally pays off.
After you have set the SAS address, the correct connector (Worked for me) is the 40 pin SYSTEM connector.
Pin 1 GND, Pin 3 MRXD, Pin 5 MTXD, Link pin 7 & 9.
Logged

Start with the customer experience and work backwards to the technology
jorgejhandal
Contributing NLG Member
New NLG Member 1 to 100 Post
*

Total Karma Storms: 13
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 51



« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2012, 03:15:49 PM »

I have some working and they work fine with cashless they even have restricted credits remote hand pay etc.
Did you configure after you do the clear and select the sas version and enable transactions. Then in sas config after config everything you put adress in 1 and asset. # and then in the optios you enable bonusing
Logged
SLOTMAN
Contributing NLG Member
NLG Member 101 to 500 Post
*

Total Karma Storms: 34
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 351



« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2012, 02:31:25 PM »

Zytec, when you say the 40 pin connector this backplane does not have one. I was under the assumption that the db25 connector was utilized.
Logged
zarobhr
Contributing Gold NLG Member
Sr.NLG Member 501 to 1000 Post
*

Total Karma Storms: 178
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 622



« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2012, 06:18:36 AM »

something to try on the 25pin connector
connect using these
pin1 ground
pin2 mtxd
pin3 ground

not sure but you may have to short out some of these Silly Me!
pin 4 is rts
pin 5 s cts
pin6 dcd
pin 20 dcd
Logged
TZtech
Contributing Gold NLG Member
Sr.Tech NLG Member 1000+ Post
*

Total Karma Storms: 129
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1113



« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2012, 06:55:18 AM »

It looks like V7200 uses the 40 pin and V7000 the 25 pin connector.
Pinouts are on the PDF in this post - http://newlifegames.net/nlg/index.php?topic=11768.0.

PS - Recently helped Red7 getting Picaxe Micros to talk SAS to S6000. Code would work on S2000 but not on Bally S6000. He changed delays in the code and eventually got it talking. It may be that the Bally SAS implementation is more sensitive to correct timing. What are You using as a host?
Logged
SLOTMAN
Contributing NLG Member
NLG Member 101 to 500 Post
*

Total Karma Storms: 34
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 351



« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2013, 12:58:41 PM »

Is there anyone that is successfully using a V7000 with some type of SAS.  I have yet to get a good solid datastream.  I am utilizing pins 1-2-3 on the DB25 connector and getting garbled data out.  The machine is seeing good polling 80/81 which is evident in the SIO comm tests.  I am wondering if there is a resistor required somewhere.
Logged
zarobhr
Contributing Gold NLG Member
Sr.NLG Member 501 to 1000 Post
*

Total Karma Storms: 178
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 622



« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2013, 01:38:12 PM »

Is there anyone that is successfully using a V7000 with some type of SAS.  I have yet to get a good solid datastream.  I am utilizing pins 1-2-3 on the DB25 connector and getting garbled data out.  The machine is seeing good polling 80/81 which is evident in the SIO comm tests.  I am wondering if there is a resistor required somewhere.
i may be way off here since i know nothing about the bally, but is is rs232 or is it TTL
Logged
SLOTMAN
Contributing NLG Member
NLG Member 101 to 500 Post
*

Total Karma Storms: 34
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 351



« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2013, 02:13:24 PM »

Is there anyone that is successfully using a V7000 with some type of SAS.  I have yet to get a good solid datastream.  I am utilizing pins 1-2-3 on the DB25 connector and getting garbled data out.  The machine is seeing good polling 80/81 which is evident in the SIO comm tests.  I am wondering if there is a resistor required somewhere.
i may be way off here since i know nothing about the bally, but is is rs232 or is it TTL


Honestly, at this point I am beginning to wonder myself.  I would have to assume being on a DB25 connector it would be 232 but I can not find documentation supporting either way.
Logged
TZtech
Contributing Gold NLG Member
Sr.Tech NLG Member 1000+ Post
*

Total Karma Storms: 129
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1113



« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2013, 02:28:31 PM »

Had a very quick look at processor schematics and it looks like all comms ports driven through MC 145406 chips - http://www.freescale.com/files/timing_interconnect_access/doc/inactive/MC145406.pdf
Logged
SLOTMAN
Contributing NLG Member
NLG Member 101 to 500 Post
*

Total Karma Storms: 34
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 351



« Reply #10 on: February 12, 2013, 03:06:42 PM »

Well oddly enough the machine will accept EFT commands.  That leads me to believe the wiring is correct as is the protocol.  It is the data coming out of the GM that is skewed.  Almost like a floating ground or reference.
Logged
jorgejhandal
Contributing NLG Member
New NLG Member 1 to 100 Post
*

Total Karma Storms: 13
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 51



« Reply #11 on: February 12, 2013, 04:43:22 PM »

What version of os dies your game have do you have the version that has unlimited double ups this one doesnt work with sas  i have a gamemaker that has aft sas 5.02
Logged
SLOTMAN
Contributing NLG Member
NLG Member 101 to 500 Post
*

Total Karma Storms: 34
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 351



« Reply #12 on: February 13, 2013, 06:06:17 AM »

Picture of mains installed.  Dont recall if there is unlimited double up or not.


* photo (5).JPG (139.07 KB, 480x640 - viewed 52 times.)
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


If you find this site helpful, Please Consider Making a small donation to help defray the cost of hosting and bandwidth.



Newlifegames.com ™    Newlifegames.net ™    Newlifegames.org ™
   New Life Games ™    NewLifeGames ™  NLG ™ We Bring new Life to old Games ™    1-888-NLG-SLOTS ™
Are all Copyright and Trademarks of New Life Games LLC 1992 - 2014


FAIR USE NOTICE:

This site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner.
We make such material available in an effort to advance awareness and understanding of the issues involved.
We believe this constitutes a fair use of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law.
In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those
who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes.

For more information please visit: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml.

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use,
you must obtain permission directly from the copyright owner.

NewLifeGames.net Web-Site is optimized for use with Fire-Fox and a minimum screen resolution of 1280x768 pixels.


Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Loon Designed by Mystica
Updated by Runic Warrior
Page created in 0.31 seconds with 21 queries.