Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 26, 2024, 11:48:08 PM

Login with username, password and session length
* Home Help Arcade Login Register
+  Forum
|-+  **Video Slots** Gaming machines
| |-+  IGT I-Game and Game King.
| | |-+  GK key chip menu question.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: GK key chip menu question.  (Read 2012 times)
vpguy
New NLG Member 1 to 100 Post

Total Karma Storms: 3

« on: March 29, 2013, 04:36:40 PM »

I'm pretty new to this stuff, so I tend to use the wrong terms.

I've got a GK with an 044 MPU, that much I know.  I've got a few questions.

1.  When I key chip the machine I notice that setting the games/percentages/denoms are all under a menu or several menu's that don't seem to make sense for those functions.  One such example is that those settings I referred to are under a menu called "speed setup".  There's another menu option that is equally not related to the functions that are in it "background color".  Is this normal?  If I'm not making sense I can go back in and grab some pics to show exactly what I'm talking about, but I'm a little surprised to see this on such a machine.

2.  Can someone please set me straigt on some of the terminology.  I know the MPU is an 044, and the game kit version is gk0003319 and the boot rom is gkb00036.  I'd like to better understanding what these versions mean.  I'm pretty clear what the 044 board is, I've read the IGT doc on this "class" of MPU.  But the other two?  Would like to be better understand those and what they mean when talking about the machine in general.