Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 29, 2024, 06:15:56 AM

Login with username, password and session length
* Home Help Arcade Login Register
+  Forum
|-+  General NLG Chat
| |-+  The Slot Shop **Tech Talk**
| | |-+  Slot machine hopper help needed
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Slot machine hopper help needed  (Read 3485 times)
chad
New NLG Member 1 to 100 Post

Total Karma Storms: 0

« on: January 17, 2014, 02:37:50 PM »

I am somewhat new to the slot arena, and am experiencing hopper issues. I have what I think is a 1980s slot. All is working but the hopper. I have removed and installed it, reseated the logic board (does have some alkyline damage) and tested all the fuses. Switches actuate and are adjusted accordingly. I have a picture of the slot and hopper for reference.
Thanks

Chad

* 01010840.JPG (57.99 KB, 640x480 - viewed 308 times.)

* 01010839.JPG (64.89 KB, 640x480 - viewed 330 times.)
chad

« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2014, 02:39:01 PM »

Here is the hopper.

* 01010841.JPG (58.95 KB, 640x480 - viewed 305 times.)
ramegoom
Contributing NLG Member
NLG Member 101 to 500 Post

Total Karma Storms: 40

« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2014, 12:32:06 PM »

That Jennings hopper uses a 115VAC motor. You can apply AC directly to the motor wiring to verify that the operation is functional. There is a separate hopper control board behind the hopper, attached to the backplane. I have had a few bad TRIACs and opto couplers on that board. Simple to repair. Also, you should suspect the Beau connector at the back. The female side tends to fail on the contact area, causing fits. Best to just replace those connectors.
chad

« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2014, 02:06:19 PM »

Thanks for the tip. I will look into this.   
chad

« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2014, 10:49:39 PM »