Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 20, 2024, 05:41:05 AM

Login with username, password and session length
* Home Help Arcade Login Register
+  Forum
|-+  **Reel Slots** Gaming Machines
| |-+  IGT S and S-plus Reel Games. (Moderator: knagl)
| | |-+  IGT S-plus Repair Difficulty / Chip Sets?
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: IGT S-plus Repair Difficulty / Chip Sets?  (Read 19966 times)
AllyRaisin
« on: July 14, 2012, 03:04:42 AM »

Hi there.

I was just wondering in general how difficult it is to repair a S-plus slot machine. I have a degree in computers and electronics, I know how to solder, test voltages , etc. and so my uncle asked me to help him with his machine.

My cousin unplugged the machine before they left for vacation and it hasn't been working since. I believe my uncle spoke with someone who stated the battery now had to be changed out and that seems to be simple enough from what I have read. What I am unsure about is that if I have to use a chip after I install the battery and then which one. I read in another thread that I should not use a clear chip but am unsure of the other choices.

Any help would be wonderful. This is my favorite uncle and I would love to get his machine up and running again. Thanks! :)
CommTech
Contributing Gold NLG Member
Sr.NLG Member 501 to 1000 Post

Total Karma Storms: 251

Joe

« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2012, 11:30:01 AM »

Welcome to NLG AllyRaisin.  wave

Replacing the CMOS battery in an S Plus machine is very easy with basic soldering skills.  You will not need any additional set chips due to a dead battery. 
If you see an 12 code on the LED display, you will know that the CMOS battery on the MPU board is in need of replacement.

Here is a link that may be helpful in locating the battery ...

http://newlifegames.net/nlg/index.php?topic=18671.0

Let us know how you make out.
Buzz
Senior Full time Member.
Sr.Tech NLG Member 1000+ Post

Total Karma Storms: 1158

« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2012, 02:26:34 PM »