Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 28, 2024, 11:27:47 PM

Login with username, password and session length
* Home Help Arcade Login Register
+  Forum
|-+  Monitor Repair Log and Database. **Arcade and Gaming**
| |-+  Monitor Repair Tech Support
| | |-+  Wells Gardner W4800 Blowing Fuses
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Wells Gardner W4800 Blowing Fuses  (Read 4212 times)
Taco
Contributing NLG Member
New NLG Member 1 to 100 Post

Total Karma Storms: 13

« on: July 28, 2011, 04:05:00 AM »

I just found out that this monitor is a Wells Gardner K4800. At power up it blows the soldered in fuse. I am a newb and this is my first attempt at monitor repair. Ive read just about everything I could find and just finished pulling the diodes (4) after the fuse and they check fine.

Latest check found u shaped retaining bar that holds the flyback onto the upper bracket burned completely through in the post that runs in the middle of the flyback (Top Pic).
Also vertical output portion of the board is really dark on the top as compared to the rest of the board. The solder side looks overheated in this area with white frost like color (Bottom Pic).
Was the flyback probably the culprit, and is this board worth saving?
I have more pictures, but can't post them bc it seems there is a limit to two photos. I can email them to anyone interested in helping further.

* July 2011 017.JPG (1448.55 KB, 3264x2448 - viewed 384 times.)

* July 2011 020.JPG (1762.45 KB, 3264x2448 - viewed 337 times.)
« Last Edit: July 28, 2011, 05:22:58 AM by Taco » Logged
StatFreak
rotaredoM etiS GLN labolG
Global NLG Site Moderator
Sr.Tech NLG Member 1000+ Post

Total Karma Storms: 756

Warning! Spammers will be eaten, with relish!

« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2011, 04:49:03 AM »

I have more pictures, but can't post them bc it seems there is a limit to two photos. ...